top of page

DIARIES [2012]

[solo piano, large ensemble]

Commissioned by the Orchestra of the League of Composers/ISCM

Premiered June 4, 2012. Miller Theatre. New York City.

Orchestra of the League of Composers/ISCM


Program note:

Diaries is a collection of (mostly) short pieces for piano and large ensemble written in 2012. The individual titles of these movements reflect, like previous pieces of mine, a response to the work of American sculptor Arthur Ganson. They were composed rather quickly, unselfconsciously, “from left to right”, and are based on a sort of “personal archeology” stance, whereby all initial motivic material was dug out of older works or sketches I had lying around. These pieces are, therefore, much more about what I felt I could do with the material to bring it back to life than about the integrity or alchemic substance of the material itself. What Calvino says about his own creative process applies to my own: “I have always aimed at...the motion that arises naturally from the image, while still being aware that one cannot speak of a literary result until this stream of imagination has been turned into words.” Diaries was written for pianist Daniel Pesca.


Purchases: I use Paypal for online transactions.
Printed scores are wire-bound, printed on durable, 28lb paper, and shipped by US mail, unless requested otherwise.
Price listed includes S/H costs (US mail only) up to five items.
PDF sets of parts are delivered by e-mail immediately upon reciept of payment notification by Paypal (normally 1-2 days) and include a license to print an unlimited number of copies for the ensemble making the purchase.
Questions, special requests, ordering more than five items? Please contact me at carlossg[at]esm[dot]rochester[dot]edu

bottom of page